this play will change your life

Mormon’s are cool, right?

There is this musical going on right now in New York City at the Eugene O’Neill Theater that is the toughest ticket to get. It’s sold out for months, and it won’t tour until December of 2012, and even then, it might not get to a city near you. They actually have to raffle off 10 tickets prior to each showing to a hopeful mob of people wanting a chance to see the show. That’s your only chance of getting to see it.

Now, what would you think the subject be of a play so popular is about?
A great love story?
No.
Something Shakespearean?
Hardly.
A space opera?
You wish!
Mormons?
You got it.
Wait, Mormons? The most popular ticket on Broadway is about Mormons?
Yup, the play is called The Book of Mormon, and it’s all the rage in NYC. It won 9 Tony Awards this year, including Best Musical, Original Score, Featured Actress, and Direction of a Musical.


I had a hard time understanding how some play about Mormon’s could be so popular until I heard who was the masterminds behind it. Trey Parker and Matt Stone. You’re telling me the creators behind South Park, BASEketball, and Team America have made a Broadway musical about Mormons? Oh man, I am so in for this.  I mean, it’s not like they’ve ever made fun of Mormons or any religion for that matter.

Now, there is little chance that I’ll get to see this anytime soon. I gotta wait until 2013, when it gets to either Chicago, or Toronto. I doubt it’ll come here, but one can hope. So, I took it upon myself to get the CD, and see what it’s all about. Sometimes it’s hard listening to a musical on CD cause you don’t get the whole story. You only get the musical numbers, so there are big gaps of story missing, and you don’t get a feeling for the characters like you would when watching it. So taking into account that I won’t be getting the full story, and listening to the musical numbers for what they are, and not in the context they’re supposed to be in, I dove right in, and, well, rather enjoyed it. I enjoyed it quite a lot.

Now, for those who know me, know I love me some musicals. Don’t know why, I just do. So it’s probably not surprising at all that I liked it. What is surprising to me is how much I like it. I’ve listened to it countless times at work (I have that pleasure of just putting in my headphones for 8 hours), watched what performances/numbers I can online, and have even gotten my lady friend humming some of the tunes.

The music is not only great, but the lyrics take it a step up. Some of the smartest and most hilarious lyrics I’ve heard in awhile. Take the song “I Believe” for example. A number about a Mormon who starts to lose his faith, but then rediscovers it, and realizes, that, when you have faith in Mormonism (or any faith for that matter), you have to believe in it all, not just some parts, no matter how ridiculous it seems.

So, take a chance on this musical from the brilliant minds of Trey Parker and Matt Stone. It took 7 years in the making, and they got the songs spot one. Oh, and for all you nerds out there, there’s plenty of references to Lord of the Rings, Lion King, and yes, STAR WARS!

About Justin

Graphic Designer by day, keeping the streets clean by night. I'm into baseball, ads, movies, and books.
This entry was posted in art, entertainment, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

