happy birthday, bruce campbell!

"Don't aspire to be a B-movie director, you'll be there soon enough."- Bruce Campbell

I just wanted to take the time to point out that today is b-movie/horror icon Bruce Campbell’s 53rd birthday.

Discovering Sam Raimi’s Evil Dead trilogy in middle school is what opened the floodgates for me to become a horror movie geek for the rest of my life.  A large part of that was due to Campbell’s compelling and iconic character of Ash.

"Hail to the king, baby."

I grew up watching a lot of old monster movies like King Kong, Godzilla, The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms, etc, so I already had a love for weird creatures, practical special effects, and way-out-there stories.  Since I was already a huge science fiction fan, I think I found horror to be kind of that genre’s distant cousin.  The Evil Dead and its two sequels opened up a whole new world for me.  It had such a unique atmosphere.  It was spooky, gory as all hell, and had a pitch black sense of humor.  I hadn’t seen anything like it.  It totally messed with me and warped my 13 year-old brain more than my steady diet of Godzilla and Gamera movies ever did.  The sequel, Evil Dead 2 was even crazier.  It was like the original movie combined with Looney Tunes and crack.  The third film Army of Darkness was a hilarious comedy/action/horror and gave us most of Ash’s classic one-liners.  Army of Darkness was actually the first one I watched (I think I watched the trilogy backwards), but it was the original film that had a real impact on me.  I instantly fell in love with these movies.  It was from there that I would go on to discover many of my favorite genre films like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Exorcist, The Fly, The Thing, Dawn of the Dead, etc.

 

Through interviews and various media appearances, I found out that Bruce was actually a very funny and modest guy.  Here’s an awesome clip of him on Craig Ferguson talking about the nature of Hollywood, independent film making, how b-movies are now a-movies, and how the word “indie” is losing its true meaning.

 

 

And of course, who could forget his awesome Old Spice commercials from a few years back?

 

 

So on behalf of everyone here at culturewedge, I’d like to wish Bruce Campbell a happy 53rd!

About Byrd

Monster movies, sci-fi, horror, and heavy metal. Long live the new flesh!
This entry was posted in entertainment, movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

